The Naughty Vixen

Dedicated to reviewing the books and products that tempt you!

Styxx by Sherrilyn Kenyon

81C9OwSkopL._SL1500_Title:  Styxx

Series:  Dark Hunter Book #22

Author:  Sherrilyn Kenyon

Rating:  A+

Sherrilyn Kenyon’s most highly-anticipated novel in the Dark-Hunter series since Acheron is here—the unforgettable story of Styxx, Acheron’s twin brother and one of the most powerful beings on earth. Just when you thought doomsday was over . . . Centuries ago Acheron saved the human race by imprisoning an ancient evil bent on absolute destruction. Now that evil has been unleashed and it is out for revenge.  As the twin to Acheron, Styxx hasn’t always been on his brother’s side. They’ve spent more centuries going at each other’s throats than protecting their backs. Now Styxx has a chance to prove his loyalty to his brother, but only if he’s willing to trade his life and future for Acheron’s.  The Atlantean goddess of Wrath and Misery, Bethany was born to right wrongs. But it was never a task she relished. Until now.  She owes Acheron a debt that she vows to repay, no matter what it takes. He will join their fellow gods in hell and nothing is going to stop her. But things are never what they seem, and Acheron is no longer the last of his line. Styxx and Acheron must put aside their past and learn to trust each other or more will suffer.  Yet it’s hard to risk your own life for someone who once tried to take yours, even when it’s your own twin, and when loyalties are skewed and no one can be trusted, not even yourself, how do you find a way back from the darkness that wants to consume the entire world? One that wants to start by devouring your very soul? 

Review:  I honestly was a bit leery about this book, and Sherrilyn Kenyon is one of my absolute favorite authors to read.  Usually, just her name attached to the book has me pre-ordering it months in advance.  However, I was hesitant when it came to Styxx.  Frankly, I couldn’t stand his character in prior books, especially how we saw him portrayed in Acheron.  So, my first thought was ‘Where is she going with this one?’, quickly followed by the thought, ‘Well, here it is.  Here is where things go all to crap and ruins one of my favorite series!’  I didn’t think I would be able to read a book focusing on a despised character, and I also didn’t think that any book in the series could top Acheron.

In the end, I couldn’t resist not knowing!  Even if it was the book that ended the series for me, I had to read it!  You don’t stick with characters this long – through numerous books – to not read one of this magnitude.  So I buckled down and started the book.  And OMG – was I so wrong!  This book was absolutely amazing – for me, it has been the best one in the series.  It even topped Acheron, and that is hard to do.

I didn’t think anyone could go through more trials and tribulations in his life than Acheron, but poor Styxx really makes his experiences seem like a cake-walk.  And it just never seems to end for the guy – he just can’t catch a break!  Bear in mind though – it is not for the faint of heart.  A good portion of the book is pure, unadulterated torture, with everything from rape, stabbings, burning, gang-rapes, child abuse, and the list just goes on and on.  If that kind of thing is hard for you to read, I guarantee you’ll struggle with this book.  This one is bar-none some of the worst scenes I have read in a book.  But come on!….if you are familiar with Kenyon at all, this is not a new concept!  And really, it is necessary to the overall plot and in order to really feel for these characters.  And Styxx proves himself to be a misunderstood character that is beyond worthy of  your admiration.  And the interaction between the two brothers is simply heart-wrenching.

My only complaint is that I did feel as if the first half of the book was a bit long-winded.  But it far, far exceeded my expectations!

https://thenaughtyvixen.wordpress.com/

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Styxx by Sherrilyn Kenyon

  1. Gret review. I thought a little less graphic child abuse would have improved the experience for me, but overall, I concur.

  2. Pingback: Sherrilyn Kenyon Styxx Giveaway « Singed Wings

Leave a Reply

