The Naughty Vixen

Dedicated to reviewing the books and products that tempt you!

The Awakening: Liam

81gUhB4rgUL._SL1500_Title:  The Awakening: Liam

Series:  Awakening Series Book #2

Author:  Abby Niles

Rating:  B

Shifter, Liam Doyle knows Hell. At least he believed he did. The night he feels his mate die, he learns how very wrong he was. Nothing he’d struggled with since Ava’s rejection compares to the emptiness that fills his soul by her death. Lost in his grief, he’s taken by surprise and drugged.  When he wakes, everything changes. Nothing is what it seems, and someone is dead set on making him pay.

When Ava Michaels is taken captive, she’s thrust into a dark and terrifying world along with the man she was forced to leave behind. While being near Liam again is heartbreaking, the motive behind her kidnapping is gradually revealed. The more she learns, the more she worries Liam isn’t the man she believed him to be. He has enemies willing to do anything to extract their revenge. Can their love survive a crazy man’s vengeance?

Review:  I have already become a quick fan of Abby Niles, having read a couple of her books already including Book 1 in this series.  I absolutely love her books, and each one has reminded me and more about why she is such a great author.  The first book in this series, I LOVED and it will stick out for me for a long time, so I was quick to pick up Liam’s story.  I was especially interested to see how Niles would pull it off after reading about poor Liam’s story during the first book.  If you have read the Aidan’s story, you can’t help but read this one.  However, never fear! – if you are only just discovering the series, Niles makes it easy to understand the goings-on of the series, and it is able to be read as a stand alone novel.  I do recommend reading the first one though since it was such an amazing read!!

I must admit, I was a bit disappointed with this one.  However, my hopes were a little low from the beginning because of how Ava is portrayed in the previous book.  While she becomes more bearable in this one, she is still a bit annoying for me.  Ava was marked by Liam as his mate before she fully realized what exactly Liam was – so she leaves him, not understanding what that would do to Liam.  We discover in this book that there is more to the story on why Ava left him – which I was expecting.  I enjoyed how Niles brought more insights into what happened and their relationship.  My issues were mostly with Ava – I thought she was a little too willing to just follow along with what was happening, in effect, giving other people control over her.  Instead of going to Liam – like she should have – and confiding in him, she makes everyone miserable instead.  While I understood her reasons, but she needed a bit more common sense – along with a refusal to let the bad guys win!  As well as the ability to trust in the man she loved to help protect her and her sister – and to be there for her no matter what.

Overall, a good addition to the series.  If you haven’t read Niles before, I definitely recommend going back and reading Aidan – it is one of her best (in my opinion).  Looking forward to the next installment, Britton’s story, due out on November 25, 2013!

https://thenaughtyvixen.wordpress.com/

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

