The Naughty Vixen

Dedicated to reviewing the books and products that tempt you!

Heart of Obsidian by Nalini Singh

91iz85ksONL._SL1500_Title:  Heart of Obsidian

Series:  Psy-Changeling Book #12

Author:  Nalini Singh

Rating:  B

A dangerous, volatile rebel, hands stained bloodred.
A woman whose very existence has been erased.
A love story so dark, it may shatter the world itself.
A deadly price that must be paid.
The day of reckoning is here.

Review:  Nalini Singh is just one of those fabulous authors that can do no wrong – Every book she writes is simply amazing.  I keep an eye out for her books and usually buy them immediately on release day, but somehow this one slipped under my radar and I am just now getting around to reading it!  Upon finding out it was Kaleb’s story, it moved quickly to desperation levels!  For those of us familiar with this series, we know how important Kaleb has been in previous books – and I, for one, have always hoped that there was more good in him than just the hints we were given.

For the most part, I was not disappointed.  Everything that Kaleb went through to get Sahara back, all he does to protect her – it was heart wrenching.  To know that Sahara tested the limits of his control really added the razor’s edge to this story.  As stoic, controlled, and emotionless as Kaleb is, it was great to see his control slip.  And can I say that having a Tk be so caught up in the moment that the glass breaks all around you is monumental.  I loved it!  I wish there had been even more of these moments throughout the book.  Sahara, for me, was a great character, meant to balance out Kaleb’s “dark” with her “light”.  However, I enjoyed the fact that she was not a complete Miss Goody-Two-Shoes….she has a few moments of darkness as well.  I would have liked to see a little more of those moments though, as she almost seems a little too innocent, a little too perfect.  especially after all she has been through.

As great as the book was, I found that it lacked a little spark in some places.  There were definite lulls, particularly throughout the middle.  Regardless, it’s a Nalini Singh book – no one is more talented at creating such vivid “otherworld” for their readers.  And it’s a Psy-Changeling one at that, which is my favorite series by her.  If your fan, enough said – I guarantee you won’t be able to resist picking this one up!  If your new to the series, I think this one would be a bit confusing without all the back history to draw from.  I definitely recommend reading the previous books first.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

