The Naughty Vixen

Dedicated to reviewing the books and products that tempt you!

Kiss of Fire by Rebecca Ethington

91l8PIzwqaL._SL1500_Title:  Kiss of Fire

Series:  Imdalind Series Book #1

Author:  Rebecca Ethington

Rating:  A

Joclyn Despain has been marred by a brand on her skin. She doesn’t know why the mark appeared on her neck, but she doesn’t want anyone to see it, including her best friend Ryland, who knows everything else about her. The scar is the reason she hides herself behind baggy clothes, and won’t let the idea of kissing Ryland enter her mind, no matter how much she wants to.  The scar is the reason she is being hunted.  If only she knew that she was.  If only she had known that the cursed stone her estranged father sent for her 16th birthday would trigger a change in her. Now, she is being stalked by a tall blonde man, and is miraculously throwing her high school bully ten feet in the air.  Joclyn attempts to find some answers and the courage to follow her heart. When Ryland finds her scar; only he knows what it means, and who will kill her because of it.

Review:  I’m going to start off by saying that I am not usually a big fan of YA.  I guess this is because of how much this distinction has changed over the years – there is no real way to know where the line is drawn on a good YA book.  What I remember reading from when I was a teen, and the things that teens read now are so different – and the audience has changed so much from then until now.  My best example recently was my mom talking me into reading the Hunger Games….as soon as I heard YA I pretty much wrote it off.  But my mom hounded me and hounded me to read it – and I have to say ‘Yes, Mom, you were right!’, because I absolutely LOVED it!

Kiss of Fire came to my attention on Facebook months ago because it was on promo as a freebie, and I have to say that for a free book I was amazed!  Right now, it is going for .99 on Amazon, but I have to tell you that it is so worth it for this book!  The plot is so original, the story grabs you from the very first page, and the characters are so immensely likeable that it is so hard to put this book down.  Joclyn is so representative of your typical teenager, and she is so easy to connect with.  Ryland is also your typical boy-crushing-on-a-girl that it is so endearing.  They almost have a whole Romeo and Juliet thing going on, what with all the circumstances trying to keep them apart – romantically anyway.  In this respect, it is very normal and relatable.  But it’s the whole paranormal story behind everything that really stands out.  As an avid reader of paranormal titles, albiet usually in the adult genre, this book really surprised me in how good it was.  And that I got it for free?…I am still shaking my head at the luck!  And I will tell you that the first thing I did after I finished the last page, was to go online and buy the next in the series.  It’s that good.  I can’t wait to see what happens next!

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

