The Naughty Vixen

Dedicated to reviewing the books and products that tempt you!

Scent of A Mate by Milly Taiden

A17mK081fVL._SL1500_Title:  Scent of a Mate

Series:  Sassy Mates Series Book #1

Author:  Milly Taiden

Rating:  B

Mission: Scent a Mate – Jordan Alvarez knew that a promise to her best friend involved staking out the local wolf pack’s scenting ceremony and recording the graphic details, but she was the writer and the only one with the balls to finish the task. No one would know that four human women had sneaked proof of their rituals, or at least, that was the plan until Aric Wolfe showed up.  Mission: Stake a ClaimAric Wolfe knew his baby sister was up to something, and expected her best friend, Jordan, to be in on the chaos. He finally had an opportunity to lay claim to a mate that had been under his nose for years. Jordan’s scent called to both the man and the animal, and he was done fighting the call of the beast. It was time to mark his mate.  Mission: Survive an AlphaWhen a good intention creates a problem for the Wolfe family, Jordan finds herself being stalked by a woman intent on claiming Aric as her own. Battle lines will be drawn, love will be put to the test, and Aric will have to fight Jordan’s strong personality to keep her alive. Two alpha hearts seeking control will either find the balance or risk losing their love forever.

Mature reader warning: Adult content including but not limited to: Violence and raw sexual language and actions.

Review:  Having recently discovered Milly Taiden, I was anxious to get started on her newest release.  While I really, really liked this book, there were a few things that I thought could have been better.  I really enjoyed how Aric has known all along that his sister’s best friend is his mate – he has just chosen to wait to claim her.  The fact that he is at a loss to really understand her – and seek help from his sister – was really endearing.  I just wish we could have seen even more of that throughout the book.  Sometimes with Taiden’s books, I think all of the sex becomes the forefront of the book and everything else kind of gets overshadowed.  This is even more prominent in this one than some of the other’s I have read.  Don’t get me wrong, Taiden writes sex scenes that can really scorch the pages – and I am definitely not saying to get rid of – or cut back – on any of it!  But I would also like to see more of the emotional aspect.  Taiden is such an excellent writer that I want to feel the emotions of these characters really put me through the emotional wringer.  I would like to see more of a balance between the emotional and the sexual.  I think Taiden is really capable of digging in even deeper into her bag of author tricks and knocking it to us – more so than she already does!

I thought the “attackers after her because she is the paltry human trying to claim one of the prime males” was bit too standard and not as creative as some of her other works.  I was expecting a bit more from that angle – especially as I know this author is certainly capable of it.  My only other complaint is that the ending fell off a little abruptly to me.  I thought there would be a few more pages to it.  Other than that, it is exactly what we can all expect from Taiden .

https://thenaughtyvixen.wordpress.com/

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

