The Naughty Vixen

Dedicated to reviewing the books and products that tempt you!

Reaper’s Touch by Eleri Stone

cover41134-smallTitle:  Reaper’s Touch

Series:  N/A

Author:  Eleri Stone

Rating:  A

Abby is a Ranger, part of an elite group who defend the border against Reapers-humans infected with a parasite that turns them into mindless cannibals. Rangers are immune to Reaper infection, and as one of the only female Rangers, Abby is expected to settle down and breed more Rangers-a fate she’s keen to avoid. When she’s ambushed on the plains, she’s ready to go out with guns blazing-until a mysterious, handsome cowboy rides to her rescue.

Jake has his own motives for helping Abby, beyond aiding a damsel in distress. He’s a Reaper, and while he’s learned to wrest control of his mind from the parasite, the effects won’t last without a permanent cure. And he needs Abby to get it.

Abby and Jake are natural enemies and unlikely partners. But when their search reveals a conspiracy between Reapers and the rich industrialists who own the mountain cities, they must work together to find the cure-or lose the border, and each other, forever.

Review:  To start off, let me say that this book is unlike anything I have read before.  The vibe it struck with me was reminiscent of a number of things – it’s an odd combination that reminded of the television series of Deadwood, the tv series The Walking Dead, the movie I Am Legend, with a little bit of futuristic sci-fi thrown in for good measure.  I guess the best way to describe it is sort of like The Walking Dead meets the Wild West.  I was fascinated, and throughout the whole book I stayed fascinated.

I originally picked this book from Netgalley for a number of reasons – number one, because of the cover and the blurb.  Number two, because I love anything paranormal – including zombies – but even more so since The Walking Dead.  And third, because I adore Eleri Stone.  I am a huge fan of her Lost City Shifters series, and that’s really what persuaded me to give it a chance.  And I’m glad I did!  This is one of those books that will stand out in my mind for a long time to come.

The creation of this whole new ‘world’ was simply awesome.  For all intents and purposes, it is pretty much a dystopian society that is similar to ours in some ways, yet completely opposite in others.  The characters are amazing and immensely likeable – Abby is honorable, spunky, determined, and stubborn, and Jake sexy, brooding, dangerous, and….did I mention sexy?  😉

They both have a rocky path to travel, not just to make changes in their society to overcome misconceptions and to find a cure for the Reapers that someone doesn’t want found, but also in order to be together despite all the odds and factors against them.  Trust me, you will be cheering both of them on and hoping against hope that things will work out in their favor!

I was hoping to find that this was going to be part of a series….I feel like there was so much more to this story that we just didn’t get.  And that I really, really want!  There are characters I want to see more of, questions I want more answers to, and a world I want to see more of!  So far, no such luck though.  Crossing my fingers though that we get to see more in some future books!  Excellent book!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

