The Naughty Vixen

Dedicated to reviewing the books and products that tempt you!

Her Wolf Menage by Louisa Bacio

61voYMxHgUL._SL1000_Title:  Her Wolf Ménage

Series:  The Vampire, the Witch, and the Werewolf Series Book #7

Author:  Louisa Bacio

Rating: C+/B-

She seeks adventure.  What’s the use of living in a wolf pack when one isn’t a shifter? Jana strikes out from Louisiana’s national forest to New Orleans to find herself, only to discover more questions.  They want the same woman.  The moment Jana steps into the French Quarter, Andre pursues the naïve beauty. An artist, he senses the hidden wolf beneath the surface, and her nature calls to him. It’s not until she leaves that long-time friend Dominick realizes what he wants. The two alpha weres must battle it out or learn to share to reach their happy ending. 

Review:  Okay, so the truth is that the blurb and the fact that it’s a shifter book sucked me into this one.  Supposedly, it is a stand alone title, but I’m not sure I agree with that.  It’s really a matter of perception, I suppose.  Can you read it without reading the other books?  Sure – and if you consider it enough to warrant ‘stand alone’ status, I guess you have it.  For me, however, if I find myself with a niggling feeling that I have missed something, or there are characters that I am wondering about and thinking ‘And what’s up with those two?’ – then to me it is not stand alone.  From the beginning, it was apparent that I had missed a lot – and that was not my only issue with the book.

My main pet peeve was just a lack of connection with the characters.  It was apparent when it came to all the characters, but especially the two male leads.  However, Dominick was the worst for me – I had a hard time with his character throughout the book….more so than any of the rest.  It also bounced around which left a distinct lack of focus on the main characters.  The books really focus more and encompass this whole world, not really giving the focus needed to these three characters and their particular story.

Don’t get me wrong, I like a series built on a strong world an encompassing a whole bunch of characters, but there still needs to be a majority focus on the main ones and I didn’t feel this was the case here.  I did enjoy the story…there were just a few things that bothered me that kept it from being really great.

https://thenaughtyvixen.wordpress.com/

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

