The Naughty Vixen

Dedicated to reviewing the books and products that tempt you!

Trace of Magic by Diana Pharaoh Francis

“You know, ever since I met you, I can’t seem to keep my own clothes on.  Why is that?”

cover52037-mediumTitle:  Trace of Magic

Series: The Diamond City Magic Novels Book #1

Author:  Diana Pharaoh Francis

Rate: A

Even the most powerful tracers can’t track you if the magical trace you leave behind is too old. But I can track almost anything, even dead trace. That makes me a unicorn, the Tooth Fairy, the Easter Bunny, and the Lock Ness Monster all rolled into one. In a word, I am unique. A very special snowflake. And if anyone ever finds out, I’ll be dead or a slave to one of the Tyet criminal factions.
Riley Hollis has quietly traced kidnapped children and quietly tipped the cops to their whereabouts one too many times. Now she’s on the radar of Detective Clay Price, a cop in the pocket of a powerful magic Tyet faction. When he blackmails her into doing a dangerous trace for him, Riley will have to break every rule that keeps her safe. Or become a Tyet pawn in a deadly, magical war. 

Thoughts:  Trace of Magic starts off what has become one of my new favorite urban fantasy series – and this book definitely leaves you wanting more!  I can’t wait to get more from these characters and this whole intriguing world.  In this alternate, magical universe, we have a world full of magical abilities, intrigue, subterfuge, deception, greed, etc. – and with Riley herself not even sure of the full scale of her powers, I can’t wait to see where things go with this series.  For book one in a new series, it is really off to a strong start, and this is the most excited I have been about a new author in urban fantasy in awhile.

For those wanting to get a feel for her works, I see the book similar to those along the lines of  the Realm Walker series by Kathleen Collins and perhaps the Cassie Palmer series by Karen Chance – if you enjoy those, I think this one might be right up your alley…:)  There are definitely moments where it reminds me a bit of Kim Harrison’s Hollow’s series (although this series is definitely not on that scale yet)….particularly when it comes to Riley’s creative uses for magic.  I think this series really has a lot of potential….and Riley really has the potential to became a huge female character that those long-lasting type series are made out of.  I can’t wait to see what the next book brings!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

